On Tea

If you are cold, tea will warm you.
If you are too heated, it will cool you.
If you are depressed, it will cheer you.
If you are excited, it will calm you.

~Gladstone, 1865


If you ask me what is my current passion, and the answer is tea. I try few different tea in the last month to seek the best tea. I bought 2 different Dilmah variety pack, The Fun Flavours and the more serious flavour. In the fun part, you can have: Vanilla, Caramel, Lemon, Mango and Peach. I found the Vanilla and Caramel have a great taste. And in the more serious part I have, Darjeeling, Ceylon Supreme, English Breakfast, English Afternoon and Earl Grey. But, aside of Earl Grey that have Bergamot oil added, I can’t find what seperate the other 4 from Sariwangi. It is either Sariwangi has a great taste comparable to Dilmah, or well, I don’t have the tongue.

My journey also lead me to more relaxing tea, Chamomile. Differs from other tea that come from tea leaves, Camellia sinensis, Chamomile come from the flower of Chamomile plant, mostly Matricaria recutita. Chamomile tea usually served with honey or lemon, but I feel sugar is enough.

I use tea as a mean to end my addiction to coffee, I always get a caffeine withdrawal every time I don’t drink coffee, usually in weekend, where I have strict no-coffee policy, a policy that I have hard time enforcing because of the migraine. But I ended up enjoying tea as my mean for relaxing. A place to escape harsh routine of wild wild world. A cup of tea is a heaven on earth. While coffee give you sense of alert, a tea give you more relaxing sense.

Smelling tea deeply before drink it become a habit that I develop to calm my nerves, sensing that world is good and everything is under control, and somehow thing will turn out okay.

 

Credit:

Pics is from Science Daily

Information is taken from Wikipedia, and I hope it is correct. :p

About dnial

You don't see anything You don't hear anything You don't know anything Move along and pretend nothing happen

Posted on 22 Januari, 2011, in experience, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Komentar.

  1. Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future. ~Thich Nat Hahn

  2. I like chamomile tea! Ng… cuma pernah nyoba itu doang soalnya. (haha)

  3. [bertanya-tanya] apa ini #kode untuk pencarian teman minum teh?

  4. @Kimi
    Ayo sini.. aku kasih. :p

    @oelpha
    Tergantung, mbak Oelpha mau nemenin? #iniBaruKode

  5. be.. benoisto…??

    #modedensha

    btw, altering coffee to tea, seems to be a worth to try idea😀

  6. And in the more serious part I have, Darjeeling, Ceylon Supreme, English Breakfast, English Afternoon and Earl Grey. But, aside of Earl Grey that have Bergamot oil added, I can’t find what seperate the other 4 from Sariwangi.

    I tried some cheap variety packs some time ago (~2 years?) and yes I can’t tell them apart, exceptions being Earl Grey (very obvious citrusy flavour) and Darjeeling (very fragrant and understated).

    They say Earl Grey should mix very well with milk. I disagree.

  7. @arm
    What? :p

    @Pak Guru
    Mix tea with milk reduce the usefulness of tea. Tea have a substance called Catechin that bind Caseine in milk. People simply say milk destroy tea. That’s why I don’t go for Teh Tarik again.

    But, having a box of Teh Tarik from certain woman…. :p

  8. I like Sari Wangi and green tea.😀 And teh tarik and te-ping, for that matter.

  9. Don’t like cammomille, dislike ear greay :p love jasmine tea and green tea only.
    And my morning routine is sniffing jasmine tea bag everyday!😀 it is relaxing!
    *lap keringet* akhirnya nyampe blogmu juga

  10. @ dnial

    So I think they mix well taste-wise, even when there’s not so much health benefits left.😀

  11. Sori formattingnya….😕

  12. ^ Corrected.
    Yes, taste-wise it’s good. I also like tea vanilla latte from Coffee bean.

    @Ceritaeka
    Welcome, semoga kerasan. :p

Tinggalkan Balasan

